The 14th SubJunior, 15th Senior & 1st Veteran Kickboxing Championships were successfully conducted from 1st – 4th October’2009 at at the Indoor Stadium, KIIT

Deemed University, Bhubaneswar,Orissa. After 8years Orissa has got the opportunity to host the National Championship.

The event sanctioned by National Kickboxing Federation i.e. IAKO and be hosted by All Orissa Kickboxing Association in association

with Rotary Club of Bhubaneswar , Pumas International , KIIT , SILICON and Bhartiya Vidya Bhawan. Organising Secretary Mr. Pradyumna Behera informed that more than 1100 Kickboxers of all the ages both in male and female categories in TATAMI /RING Sports were taken part along with the Officials from 32 IAKO member States/UT’s including Armed/Police Units from all over the country.

The estimated Budget expenditure shall be managed by the Organising Committee of AOKA within 10.00 lakhs by minimizing the cost in every respect, out of which the National Federation (IAKO) has sanctioned a financial assistance of about Rs. 4.00 Lakhs, said Engineer S.S. Harichandan, President of IAKO.

AOKA(IAKO Orissa) is the premier member association of IAKO in the country recognised by Orissa Olympic Association(OOA) as well as from Dept. of Sports & Youth Services in Govt. and responsible in promoting and controlling Kickboxing in our state, produced quite a good number of Champions in National and International level, said the President of AOKA Shri Shivananda Ray.

More over the National Kickboxing Federation(IAKO) is functioning from Orissa State by establishing its National HQ at Bhubaneswar, a pride for our state in general, for which all the credit goes to the pioneer and Founder of the Federation an International repute Martial Artist and 7th Dan Black Belt Engineer Sudhanshu Shekhar Harichandan, said the International Coordinator of WAKO South Asia PDG Ashwini Kumar Kar.

To commemorate the occasion a book on Kickboxing was supposed to be released but could not be materialized due to non receipt of matters in time, hence only the cover page was realeased and informed that the complete book will be released in a special function, said the Committee Chairman Dr. S.K. Tamotia, DG, Bharatiya Vidya Bhawan, Bhubaneswar.

The Opening Ceremony was held on 1st October’09 at evening and witnessed by Hon’ble Minister of Tourism & Culture, Orissa Shri Debi Prasad Mishra along with

the Padmashree Dilip Tirkey, Engineer S.S. Harichandan as the Guest of Honor.

On 2nd & 3rd October’09 many dignitaries such as Chairman of the Organising Committee and Former Minister Shri K.V. Singh Deo/ Dr. Achyut Samanta, Founder

KIIT/ Rtn Sashi Varvandkar, District Governor, R.I. Dist.3260/ Shri K.P. Mishra, Commissioner, Bharat Soucts & Guides / Rtn. J.K. Mohanty, President, Rotary Club of

Bhubaneswar/ Smt. Puspa Harichandan, President, Inner Wheel Club of Bhubaneswar / Former ADGP Bata Krushna Tripathy , Former Minister Debasish Pattanaik ,

and many noted personalities witnessed the competitions and also awarded medals to the winners.

On Closing Ceremony Honble M.P. Shri Ramachandra Khuntia was the Chief Guest along with Dr. Achyut Samanta, Founder of KIIT, Engineer S.S. Harichandan, etc as the Guest of Honor and awarded the Champion Trophy and Medals to the winners. More than 70 Official Referee and Judges conducted the entire Championship under the leadership of the Championship Director Mr. C.A. Tamboli assisted by Mr. Pradyumna Behera, Mr. Selvraj, Mr. Anand Balu, Mr. Harsh Dahiya, Mr. Santosh Agrawal, Mr. Wasim Ahmed, Mr. Santosh Deshmukh, Mr. Arvind Sheriwalia, as the Directors of various Tatamis and Ring informed the Secretary General of IAKO Mr. Montu Das.

Orissa bagged both the Sub Junior and Senior Champion Trophy with maximum medals and points followed by Maharastra and Delhi. Mr. Anshuman Behera of Orissa and Mr. Mohit Bhardwaj of Delhi adjudged as the Best Fighters of the Championship in Sub Junior and Senior division respectively. A 60 members Tripura team lead by Mr. Pinaki Chakraborty received the Best Disciplined Team Trophy.

Organising Secretary

( Pradyumna Behera )

General Secretary, AOKA

Mob: 9437032264 , 9776003322

10 views0 comments